rain

“You have to leave the city of your comfort and go into the wilderness of your intuition. What you’ll discover will be wonderful. What you’ll discover is yourself.” ~Alan Alda

If you have been following this blog you may have noticed that many of the entries reference the changes in my life that resulted from some unexpected challenges encountered 5 years ago. I’ve talked with many people over the years and have noticed that, by a certain age, each individual has a story to tell about one particular year they will never forget – a year that has become in many ways, a defining moment in their present lives. 2010 was such a time for me. A set of circumstances occurred, some small and some big, and together they set into motion a season of transformation in my life.

growth

Pre-2010, there was hidden deep in my heart, the desire to grow and develop – to metamorphose into something new.  So when the pressing need for change presented itself, I was ready to step out to meet it, albeit with shaky legs.

In the early days of my transformation I experienced a recurring dream. I would dream of finding new rooms within my home. This dream was one of excitement. At times I would awaken laughing.  I became curious about the theme of this dream, and for some fun, goggled it. I was delighted to discover I am not the only person who has experienced this dream.

“New rooms in a house in a dream can relate to areas in our lives where we are discovering new skills, abilities or strengths within ourselves.  While we may feel we know who we are and what we are capable of, dreams of new rooms invite us to open our minds to the possibility that we have even greater potential than we thought.  New rooms are like an extension of ourselves.  Just because a house is built does not mean we need to move out when we need more space, we can extend and build to make the house accommodate our growing and changing needs.  So too can we extend our own personality, to embrace new ways of living.  Dreams of new rooms invite us to look at what we thought were our limitations, and to recognise that we can move beyond them.” – http://thedreamwell.com/

I am a spiritual (not religious) person, so I believe this dream was sent by God* as a sign that I was on the right track and an encouragement to keep pressing on, no matter how difficult or frightening the future looked. I had faith that things were going to work out – though perhaps not as I would have planned them, but in a way that was so much better. This dream really got me through some rough patches.

I would like to encourage anybody who is going through their own transformative and challenging time, to keep going. Even if your steps are baby steps. Even if you feel you have stepped backwards a little. Just keep going. The joy of coming to know yourself, the peace of living your own truth, and the confidence from learning to love and accept yourself as you are, are the treasures you will collect along the way of your own gypsy journey.

*(To my thinking, God is the wonderful Creator of the Universe who I believe is known by different names and in different ways to people – I do not put God in a box that caters only to one religion. Your understanding of God may well be different than mine, and I completely respect this.)

