This morning I read a post on a friend’s blog regarding being thankful for the blessings we already have in each of our lives. She posted this video:

kimAround the same time, a co-worker told me the latest on Kim Kardashian . Apparently, she “only” spent $110,000.00 on her husband for his birthday.

Wow! I thought. What a sharp contrast of perspective is this juxtaposition of both stories.

cat 2

I am all about balance in life, so I am not advocating that we should forego all luxuries. Especially when these luxuries are hard-earned. Hey, I love the little red convertible Mustang the hubby recently gifted me. It’s been my dream since the 1980’s.

However, I do believe that there is more to life than simply lavishing myself and my loved Mother Teresaones with excessive material goods. This is especially true in a world where many have little and are hungry. I believe excessive consumption becomes unhealthy for my spirit. There comes a point where I must say, “I have enough. My family has enough. We are content. What can we do for others with what we have left over?” And it doesn’t matter how little is left over. I can make a small savings out of it, get the rest of the family involved, and watch it grow into something that can make a difference in someone else’s life.

I truly believe that there are enough resources, enough money, and enough food on this planet to sustain ALL of us.

Nobody should be left wanting.

