There has been a lot of rain this last week or so.

Warm temps and rain.

Perfect for puddle-splashing with my grand-son.

Perfect to fall asleep to with the bedroom window ever so slightly open.

Perfect for lazing away a Sunday afternoon, with warm tea and juicy book in hand.

rain

And perfect to induce the glorious eruption of  blossoms and foliage in our gardens.

How I love this time of year and watching the gardens bloom.

Would you allow me to take you for a virtual tour of our gardens?

IMG_2387[1]First stop is my Magical Garden. I blogged about it here. It was the garden that refused to grow until I left it to it’s own devices. The strawberries are almost ripened enough for picking! I love this garden that nurtures my body and spirit.

I love how it reminds me of the joy and surprise of unexpected blessings.

IMG_2419[1]Next stop is our Heritage Garden, so named as we inherited it from the previous owners upon our move 14 years ago. Yesterday I was greeted with the beautiful sight and sweet smell of freshly-bloomed pink peonies. How lovely to come home to!

IMG_2392[1]

This Heritage Garden also boasts of a flowering shrub, rose bushes and wild daisies.

It reminds me to be thankful for all the unmerited blessings I have received.

Next up is the garden along the side of our house, underneath our bedroom windows.

IMG_2388[1]This garden is filled with gifts from friends. Little green shrubs had taken over a friend’s garden. She decided to share the wealth, dug one up, and gave it to me. I divided it and, years later, the transplant has proven to be successful. Around the same time, I mentioned to a co-worker how very much I loved tiger lilies. She responded by bringing me two from her own garden. These two plants proved to be fertile and multiplied greatly!

When I look at this garden, I give thanks for the blessing of friendship. The shrub-bequeathing friend is still in my life. And, though I no longer work with the tiger-lily giver, the return each year of the plants remind me of a wonderful time of life that we shared at our former workplace.

IMG_2426[1]I am especially happy with our next garden stop. This is our little front entrance garden that I filled with lavender last year. To my amazement, these plants not only survived a very cold winter, but they have blossomed out beyond what they did last year. Just a little water and love is all that was required. I wanted to plant lavender by our front entrance to provide a soothing scent to greet friends and family when they visit.

This garden reminds me of the blessing of hospitality. And how wonderful it is to have people join us in our home.

The final stop is our sweet Gazebo Garden. I am very pleased with it’s progress this year.

IMG_2412[1]This garden has so much meaning for me. I dug it out to surround the outdoor oasis my hubby built for us to provide a place of peace during a particularly painful time we went through a few years ago. This garden is where my love lies. It reminds me of the blessing of having a life partner to share experiences with – be they good, bad or neutral times, I know we have each other.

This garden reminds me of how, with faith in each other, we can bring beauty from sorrow, hope from despair.

This has brought so much peace.

And these gardens have brought so much joy!

.

