I am so over seeing one particular male “Christian’s” name in the news. I am sick of hearing about his “sins”. He will remain nameless here and I will not post a link.

This is not the first pop-star famous “Christian” who has made the news in a negative way. There seems to be numerous examples over the last few years.

Let me say right from the beginning, I am not a judgmental person. I do not hold religious people to a higher standard than anyone else. I believe we all are human, with our own lapses in judgment, flaws, things to be worked on, etc. Nobody is above making mistakes.

What is bothering me so much that I have to write a blog on this, is the attitude of a certain type of Christian. The type that always seems to bring God into the mix. The type that seems to skirt around acknowledging that their behaviour is their choice and they are solely responsible for it. It’s like they think they are entitled to a “get out of jail free” card just because they spend Sundays in a church or say the odd little “prayer”. The type that clearly lacks Integrity and Authenticity.

Lets say one such religious person hurts another person, whether through cheating, or lying or any other type of insensitive behaviour. Their response? Blah blah blah, and God forgives me so you are wrong not to blah blah blah  bear with each other (but really this means bear with their bad behaviour), blah blah blah Grace and Mercy. It’s ridiculous! And it’s not just done by celebrity “Christians”. I’ve noticed regular people-next-door religious “Christians” pulling the same nonsense.

Why do they do this? Why is God pulled into their sordid mess?

When I make a mistake, when I act selfishly or inappropriately in some way, I take responsibility for my actions. Then I apologize, and I learn from the whole experience.

That’s what grown adults who are well-adjusted do. They take responsibility for their own behaviour, and do what they can to clean up the mess.

As I have mentioned in previous blog entries, I am a very spiritual person who believes there is a wonderful beautiful Creator of this world. I believe this Creator loves me as I believe we all are loved.

But I do not believe I should hide behind this Creator when faced with my mistakes and messes. I find this tendency to be disrespectful to anyone I have hurt, as well as disrespectful to myself and the Creator.

Make no mistake, the way we treat other people matters greatly. It’s an intricate part of the story we weave about who we truly are, no matter what kind of fancy words we spew.

Bottom line to me, whether you are religious, spiritual or an atheist, take responsibility for your own actions. It’s part of being an adult. And it’s how we grow into the people we are called to be.

yoga

