This Christmas Season, I have been enjoying reading through a lovely Advent Reflections book based on The Chronicles of Narnia – a much loved fairy-tale series by C.S. Lewis. If you are interested, here is a link to the book, Advent in Narnia.

I found the readings of this last week very thought provoking. Anyone who has read the Chronicles of Narnia will be familiar with the lamppost which always has light no matter what else is happening. I love the imagery in this. It reminds me of when I am in Toronto and I lose my way, or get a little turned around. I always look for the CN Tower. This tower gives me my grounding and from knowing where it lies in relation to where I am standing, I know what direction to take to get where I am going. I think it’s the same with the lamppost from the fairy tale.

I find it easy to take a leap and apply this to my spiritual walk. I know that Jesus and his Word are always there to lead me when life gets confusing and even when painful things happen. The thing is, no matter what else is happening in my life, family, surrounding friends and community or the larger world, Christmas still comes each year. It comes and is a wonderful reminder that Jesus was born, that God loves us and that, ultimately, whatever is happening, it will be okay. Not necessarily okay in a way that is exactly how we would choose things to be. But okay in the sense that God has us well in hand, and when we turn things over to Him, He can transform them the same way that Aslan (an amazing Lion from the fairy-tale) could transform an instrument of destruction used by the White Witch (another character from the story), into a beautiful ever-burning lamppost.

The first set of readings has fanned the embers of hope within me – which is the whole theme of this week of Advent. Hope. Hope for my own spiritual growth and reconciliation with church. Hope for my family and any friends who are struggling. Hope for the people I meet in the community. And Hope for our world, that Peace will come and Love will overcome all the struggles and dissention that has been present in the news lately.

Hope is a good place to be at this moment, as the journey continues through Advent 2015.

post

 

 

